Glossary of Terms


At the Gwent Regional Partnership Team, we have created a glossary of what a wide range of abbreviations and terms mean. 


ABUHB – Aneurin Bevan University Health Board

ACE – Adverse Childhood Experience

AHW – A Healthier Wales

ASD – Autism Spectrum Disorder

AWF – All Wales Forum

ACP – Advanced care planning

AT - Assistive Technology


BAME – Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic 

BCP – Business Continuity Planning


CALDS – Children and Adolescents Learning Disability Service

CAMHS – Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services

CIW – Care Inspectorate Wales

CRT – Community Reablement Team

CYP – Children and Young People

CTSEW – Carers Trust South East Wales

CT – Carers Trust

CW - Carers Wales


D2RA – Discharge to Recover and Assess

DBS – Disclosure and Barring Service

DFG – Disabled Funding Grant

DWP – Department for work and pensions

DHR – Digitised Health Record


EDT – Emergency Duty Team

EHO – Environmental Health Officer

EOLB – End of Life Board


FIT – Family Information Team

FIS  Family Information Services


GASP – Gwent Adults Strategic Partnership

GAVO - Gwent Association of Voluntary Organisations

GP – General Practitioner

GUH – Grange University Hospital

GWICES – Gwent Wide Integrated Community Equipment Service

CCSG – Community Care Sub-Group

GCSPB – Gwent Carers Strategic Partnership Board


HEIW – Health Education and Improvement Wales

HOPE (Project) – Helping Others Participate and Engage

HSC&H – Health, Social Care and Housing (Partnership)

HoS – Heads of Service

HIW – Health Inspectorate Wales


IAA – Information, Advice and Assistance

ICF – Integrated Care Fund

IPB – Integrated Partnership Board

IPC – Institute of Public Care

IMTP – Integrated Medium-Term Plan

ISCAN – Integrated Services for Children with Additional Needs

ISPB - Integrated Strategic Partnership Board

IWN – Integrated Wellbeing Network

IPAC – Infection Prevention and Control






LFD – Lateral Flow Device (Covid Test)

LFT – Lateral Flow Test (Covid Test)

LG – Local Government

LPS – Liberty Protection Safeguards


MDT – Multi-Disciplinary Team

MH & LD – Mental Health and Learning Disabilities

MPS – Market Position Statement

MyST – My Service Team

MoU- Memorandum of Understanding

MCA/DOLS – Mental Capacity Act / Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards


NEST - Nurturing / Empowering / Safe / Trusted 

NCN – Neighbourhood Care Network

NOK – Next of Kin

NHS – National Health Service

NICE – National Institute for Health and Care excellence


OT – Occupational Therapist

OOH – Out of Hours


PH/PHW – Public Health / Public Health Wales

PMLD – Profound and Multiple Learning Disabilities

PSB – Public Service Board

PMO - Project Management Office

PNA – Population Needs Assessment

POVA – Protection of Vulnerable adults

PII – Patient Identifiable Information


QA – Quality Assurance

QI – Quality Improvement

QAIF – Quality Assurance Improvement Framework


RI – Responsible Adult

RIF - Regional Integration Funding

RISCA – Regulation and Inspection of Social Care Act (2016) – Wales

RGH – Royal Gwent Hospital

RLG – Regional Leadership Group

RPB – Regional Partnership Board

RPT - Regional Partnership Team

RSL – Registered Social Landlord

RCG – Regional Commissioning Group


SPA – Single of Point of Access

SCW – Social Care Wales

SPACE – Single Point of Access for Children’s Emotional Wellbeing and Mental Health

SOP – Standard Operating Procedure

Sitrep – Situation report

SS&WBA – Social Services and Wellbeing (Wales) Act 2014

SIRO – Senior Information Risk Owner

SAR – Subject access request


TEC – Technology Enabled Care

TF – Transformation Fund

TOR – Terms of Reference

TVA – Torfaen Voluntary Alliance




VAWDASV – Violence Against Women, Domestic Abuse and Sexual Violence


WAST – Wales Ambulance Service Trust

WCCIS – Welsh Community Care Information System

WCVA – Wales Council for Voluntary Action

WLGA – Welsh Local Government Association

WG – Welsh Government

WCA – Wales Carers Alliance

WASP – Wales accord for the sharing of personal information